Written by: Cody Wittenmyer

March 2016 Edition

The Seaboard System

Dates of Operation: 1982-1986 (4 years)

The Seaboard System (Reporting Marks: SBD) was a short-lived Class I railroad in the Southeastern part of the United States that took over the Family Lines System, with a few smaller railroads as well. In 1986, Seaboard had merged with the Chessie System in the creation of CSX Transportation.

The Seaboard System railroad was only made as a temporary railroad. It was a name holder for all of the railroads from its predecessor: SCL/L&N. Also known as the Family Lines System. This included the Louisville & Nashville, Seaboard Coast Line (which had absorbed Seaboard Air Line (SAL) & Atlantic Coast Line (ACL), Clinchfield, Atlanta & West-Point, The Georgia Railroad, South Carolina Pacific Railway, Louisville, Henderson, & St. Louis Railway, Gainesville Midland, and the Columbia, Newberry, & Laurens Railway.

Seaboard did not run any passenger trains because by this time the government-funded National Railroad Passenger Corporation known as Amtrak was created in 1971 and assumed passenger operations.

Operating Divisions of Seaboard as of 1985-
  • Atlanta
  • Birmingham
  • Corbin
  • Evansville
  • Florence
  • Jacksonville (Seaboard's headquarters and now currently CSX Transportation's headquarters)
  • Louisville
  • Mobile
  • Nashville
  • Raleigh
  • Savannah
  • Tampa
Seaboard System Photos-

Seaboard System Remembered-

CSX ES44DC #5461 shows off the Seaboard System Emblem on its cab. CSX had recently started putting its predecessor railroad's logos on their locomotives in 2015. Photo taken from heritageunits.com.